Skilled Work Regional (provisional) Subclass 491 Visa

Do you want to live and work in designated regional areas of Australia? Aspiring to extend your stay for five years?

Apply for Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) – subclass 491 visa that was introduced by Australia recently!

Enquire Now

Why Choose Subclass 491 Visa?

Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) – subclass 491 is a Provisional Visa. It enables eligible professionals and their family members to live, study and work in the designated regional areas of Australia for 5 years. The validity of the visa is 5 years. However, visa holders may be eligible to apply for a Permanent Residence visa which is Subclass 191 after 3 years, provided they fulfil all the requirements.


Eligibility Criteria

To be eligible for the visa, you must be

  • Nominated by a state/territory government or be sponsored by an eligible relative in a designated regional area


Designated Regional Areas Of Australia

Designated regional areas are Perth, Adelaide, Canberra, Gold Coast and Hobart. Sydney, Brisbane and Melbourne do not fall in the list.


How Points Are Allocated For Subclass 491

Like any other General Skilled Migration Visa, Subclass 491 Visa Application is also based on point test. Generally, these points are based on visa applicant’s age, qualification, overseas and Australian work experience, English and Australian study. However, there has been a revision of point-system for all the Skilled Migration Visas and additional points can be gained under following categories.

  • 15 points for applicants nominated by a State or Territory government or sponsored by a family member residing in regional Australia.
  • 10 Points for Skilled Spouse or De Facto Partner
  • 10 Points the applicant does not have a spouse or de facto partner or the applicant has a spouse or de facto partner who is an Australian permanent resident or an Australian citizen
  • 5 points for applicants with a spouse or de facto partner who has competent English and is not permanent resident or Australian citizen
  • 10 Points for certain Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) qualifications


How To Seek 491 Visa Invitation

For invitation purposes, you are awarded a ranking in case you are a

  1. Visa applicant who has a skilled partner or those who do not have a partner
  2. Those applicants whose partners can show proofs of Competent English
  3. Partners of those applicants who are unable to provide proofs of competent English or skilled partner points


Whether 491 Holders Can Apply For Other Visas

If you are a 491 visa holder, you cannot apply for other visas that are part of the General Skilled Migration program.

How You Are Entitled To Permanent Residency

Subclass 491 visa is for five years, however, you can apply for PR SC 191 visa provided you meet the criteria.
Subclass 191 can be applied after meeting conditions such as.

  • Live, study or work in a regional area for 3 years while you are holding a 491 visa
  • Show annual salary of at least $53,900 for 3 years
FAQs About Skilled Work Regional (provisional) SUBCLASS 491 VISA

The Subclass 491 Visa is an Australian visa designed to encourage skilled workers to live and work in specific regional areas of the country. It is a provisional visa with a pathway to permanent residency.

This visa contributes to Australia’s regional development by directing skilled migrants to regional areas that have skill shortages. It supports these areas in growing their economies and communities.

Unlike certain other skilled visas, the Subclass 491 Visa requires nomination by a state or territory government agency or sponsorship by an eligible family member residing in a designated regional area of Australia.

To be eligible, you must have a nominated occupation on the relevant skilled occupation list, obtain a suitable skills assessment for that occupation, meet the points test requirement, receive an invitation to apply, and meet health and character requirements, among other criteria.

The points test is a scoring mechanism used to assess your eligibility for the Subclass 491 Visa. Points are awarded based on factors such as age, English language proficiency, work experience, education, and regional nomination or sponsorship.

Yes, you can include eligible family members such as your spouse or de facto partner and dependent children in your application. They must meet health and character requirements.

Changing your nominated occupation after visa approval could have implications for your visa status. It’s essential to choose the correct occupation during the application process.

Yes, the Subclass 491 Visa offers a pathway to permanent residency through the Subclass 191 Visa (Permanent Residence (Skilled Regional)) provided you meet certain residency and other criteria while living and working in a designated regional area.

One of the primary conditions is that you must live, work, and study only in a designated regional area of Australia. Additionally, you’re required to update the government about your location.

Processing times can vary depending on individual circumstances, application accuracy, and other factors. For the most current information, it’s advisable to refer to the Department of Home Affairs website.

You need to submit an Expression of Interest (EOI) through the SkillSelect system. Once you receive an invitation, you can proceed to lodge a visa application with all the necessary documents.

Visa Class

General Skilled Migration Visa essentially serves the best to those skilled workers who are willing to live and work in Australia on a permanent basis.

Read More