Skilled Regional Provisional Visa (Subclass 489)


From 16th November 2019, the Skilled Regional Provisional Visa (Subclass 489) has been abolished and replaced by the new Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) Visa (Subclass 491).

This visa is now discontinued. For any further enquiries, please click here.

Enquire Now

The Skilled Regional Provisional visa (subclass 489) is a temporary visa for people, who have the skills, capabilities and experience that are highly demanded in regional or low-population growth metropolitan areas of Australia.

The visa is divided into three categories

  • The Extended Stay pathway
  • The Invited pathway
  • The Subsequent Entry pathway

The applicant can be in or outside of Australia when lodging an application for this visa under any of the above categories.


Benefits Of The Skilled Regional Provisional Visa

Being a skilled regional (provisional) visa holder, you can

  • Live, work and study in Australia for up to 4 years
  • Leave and re-enter Australia frequently till the visa is valid.
  • Apply for permanent residency, if eligible, through the Skilled-Regional (Residence) visa (subclass 887)

**NOTE: New Zealand passport holders must inform the immigration officer of holding a skilled visa, otherwise you might be granted a Special Category visa (subclass 444).


Eligibility Criteria

You must currently hold and never held more than one of the following visas

For Extended Stay Pathway

  • Skilled-Independent Regional visa (subclass 495)
  • Skilled-Regional Sponsored visa (subclass 475)
  • Skilled-Regional Sponsored visa (subclass 487)
  • Skilled-Designated Area Sponsored Provisional visa (subclass 496)

If nominated by a state or territory for the current skilled visa, you must be living and working in a regional or low-population growth metropolitan area of the same state or territory.

**The Extended Stay Pathway allows to work in any occupation and for any employer. If you have been sponsored by the relative on current skilled visa, you can live and work in any designated area of state or territory.

For Invited Pathway

  • You must be nominated by the Australian State or Territory Government or sponsored by the eligible relative living in a designated area of Australia
  • Your occupation must be on the Medium and Long-term Strategic Skills List (MLTSSL), if you are nominated by the Australian state or territory government
  • Your occupation must be on the list of eligible skilled occupations , if you are sponsored by the relative
  • You must have your skill assessment done that can show you have the required skills and qualifications to work in that occupation.
  • You must submit an EOI (Expression of Interest) and get invited to apply for this visa
  • You must be able to achieve the required point score on your invitation letter (i.e. 65 or more)
  • You must have age less than 50 when invited to apply for this visa
  • You must have competent English


What is Expression of Interest?

It is an online form completed via SkillSelect which includes a series of questions about your skills that helps immigration department decides whether you should be invited to apply for this visa or not. You must clearly specify the states or territories you are interested in or show that you have a sponsor. Such forms are valid for two years only. You can be in or outside of Australia to submit an EOI and make changes in it before receiving an invitation in certain circumstances.

The Sponsors must

Be at least 18 years old or more

  • Live in a designated area of Australia
  • Be settled in Australia as an Australian citizen, Australia permanent resident or eligible New Zealand citizen
  • Be the relative or partner’s relative of the applicant
  • Be willing to support applicant and all the included members of the family unit to settle in Australia

For Subsequent Entry Pathway

You must be family member of someone who currently holds any of the following visas

  • Skilled Regional (Provisional (subclass 489)
  • Skilled-Regional Sponsored visa (subclass 475)
  • Skilled-Regional Sponsored visa (subclass 487)
  • Skilled-Independent Regional (Provisional) visa (subclass 495)
  • Skilled-Designated Area Sponsored visa (subclass 496)

You must have evidence of functional English if you are 18 years old or more with 12 months validity. If you fail to provide this evidence, you will need to pay an additional fee, which is called a second instalment.

Additional Eligibility Criteria for all the pathways

  • You must meet health and character requirements
  • You must have no outstanding debts to the Australian government before the visa is granted
  • You must not have your visa refused or cancelled while living in Australia
  • You and the dependent family members in the application must comply with all the Australian laws and visa conditions


Compare & buy the best OVHC plan for 489 Visa on


Validity Period

Visit to know the validity period of Extended Pathway, Invited Pathway and Subsequent Pathway.

Extending the stay on this visa

You cannot extend or re-apply this visa. If you want to stay in Australia permanently, you can apply for a Skilled Regional visa (subclass 887).


Family Members in the Visa Application

You can include following members in the visa application

  • Your partner
  • Your or your partner’s child/step child

DISCLAIMER: The information provided here is only for general understanding and does not constitute legal advice. We recommend consult a Registered Migration agent for further information or check with Department of Immigration and border Protection at

Visa Class

General Skilled Migration Visa essentially serves the best to those skilled workers who are willing to live and work in Australia on a permanent basis.

Read More