Skilled Work Regional (provisional) Subclass 491 Visa

Are you looking to reside and work in specific regional zones of Australia? Aiming to prolong your stay up to five years?

Consider applying for the Regional Skilled Work (Provisional) – subclass 491 visa, a new initiative launched by Australia!

Enquire Now

Selecting the Subclass 491 Visa

The Subclass 491 Visa, or Skilled Work Regional (Provisional), grants skilled individuals and their dependents the chance to live, study, and be employed within designated regional zones of Australia for 5 years. With a validity span of 5 years, this visa also potentially leads to Permanent Residence through Subclass 191 after three years, assuming all prerequisites are satisfied.



For visa qualification, applicants are required to –

  • Receive a nomination from a state or territory government, or have a sponsorship from a qualified relative located in an approved regional area.


Approved Regional Areas in Australia

The approved regional areas include Perth, Adelaide, Canberra, Gold Coast, and Hobart. Notably, Sydney, Brisbane, and Melbourne are excluded from this list.

Scoring Points for the Subclass 491 Visa Application Process

The process for applying for a Subclass 491 Visa involves a points-based system, as is common with General Skilled Migration Visas. Points are awarded based on factors such as the applicant’s age, qualifications, work experience in Australia and abroad, English language skills, and Australian educational background. The points system for Skilled Migration Visas has been revised, introducing opportunities to accumulate additional points across various new areas.

  • Gain 15 points if a State or Territory government nominates you, or if you’re sponsored by family living in regional Australia.
  • Earn 10 points if your spouse or de facto partner is skilled.
  • Secure 10 points whether you’re single, or if your spouse or de facto partner is an Australian citizen or permanent resident.
  • Receive 5 points if your spouse or de facto partner possesses proficient English but isn’t an Australian citizen or permanent resident.
  • Collect 10 points for having qualifications in specific fields of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM).


Steps to Secure an Invitation for the 491 Visa

Your eligibility for an invitation is determined by a ranking system, which considers:

  1. Individuals applying with a skilled partner or those who are single.
  2. Those whose partners are able to present verification of Competent English.
  3. Those whose partners are neither able to show evidence of Competent English nor qualify for points as a skilled partner.

Eligibility for Other Visas as a 491 Visa Holder

Holders of the 491 visa are restricted from applying for visas within the General Skilled Migration program.

Permanent Residency Rights Explained

A five-year duration is provided by the Subclass 491 visa, with the possibility of applying for the PR SC 191 visa if criteria are met.

Requirements for the Subclass 191 visa application involve:

  • Reside, pursue education, or engage in employment within a regional location for a duration of three years under the 491 visa.
  • Demonstrate a yearly income of no less than $53,900 over a three-year period.
FAQs About Subclass 491 Visa Australia (Skilled Work Regional Provisional):

The Subclass 491 Visa enables skilled workers to reside and work in designated regional areas in Australia, offering a provisional visa that leads to permanent residency.

By channeling skilled migrants to regions lacking in certain skills, the Subclass 491 Visa helps in the economic and communal growth of these areas.

The Subclass 491 Visa uniquely requires a state or territory nomination or a sponsorship by a family member living in a regional area, unlike some other skilled visas.

Eligibility criteria include having a nominated occupation on the skilled occupation list, a positive skills assessment, meeting the points test, receiving an invitation, and fulfilling health and character checks.

This test awards points for age, English proficiency, work experience, and educational qualifications, along with points for regional nomination or sponsorship, to determine eligibility.

Yes, spouses, partners, and dependent children can be included, provided they meet the necessary health and character standards.

It is critical to select the appropriate occupation initially as changing it post-approval may affect the visa status.

Holders of the Subclass 491 Visa can transition to permanent residency through the Subclass 191 Visa after fulfilling specific requirements in a regional area.

Visa holders are obligated to live, work, and study in designated regional areas and must inform the government of any change in their location.

Processing times vary, and for the most accurate and updated information, the Department of Home Affairs website should be consulted.

An Expression of Interest must be submitted via the SkillSelect platform, followed by a visa application upon receiving an invitation, including all required documentation.

Visa Class

General Skilled Migration Visa essentially serves the best to those skilled workers who are willing to live and work in Australia on a permanent basis.

Read More