Point Table

In order to claim an extra 5 Points, the Approved Professional Year Program must be completed within 48 months immediately before the application is lodged with the Department of Immigration and Citizenship (DIAC). Moreover, The professional Year Program must be either related to the applicant’s Nominated Skilled Occupation or a Closely Related Skilled Occupation. (i.e. If the applicant have successfully completed his/her study in IT then he must have completed Professional Year Program for IT).

The Minister of Department of Immigration and Citizenship (DIAC) set the basic eligibility requirements that every applicant needs to achieve the 65 points for the Certain Skilled Visa under General Skilled Migration Category (Visa Subclass 885, 886, 487, 175, 176, 475), according to which every applicant from IT, Accounting and Engineering stream can be eligible for an Extra 5 Points if they have successfully completed an Approved Professional Year Program.

Factor Description Points
Age 18–24 25
25–32 30
33–39 25
40–44 15
45–49 0
English Language (or equivalent standard in a specified test) Competent English – IELTS 6* 0
Proficient English – IELTS 7* 10
Superior English – IELTS 8* 20
Australian or overseas skilled employment in nominated occupation or a closely related occupation undertaken in the past 10 years

Note: Maximum points that can be awarded for any combination of Australian or overseas skilled employment is 20 points
One year in Australia 5
Three years in Australia 10
Five years in Australia 15
Eight years in Australia 20
Three years overseas 5
Five years overseas 10
Eight years overseas 15
Qualifications (Australian or recognised overseas) Australian Diploma or trade qualification or other qualification recognised by a relevant Assessing Authority 10
At least a Bachelor degree 15
Doctorate 20
Australian study requirement Minimum two years full-time (Australian study requirement) 5
Study in a regional area Must meet the Australian Study Requirement while studying in a regional area 5
Professional Year Completion of a recognised Professional Year 5
Credentialed Community language NAATI accreditation 5
Partner skills Primary applicants partner meets threshold requirements for skilled migration visa 5
Nomination by state/territory government (subclass 176 or 886 visa) Nomination by a state or territory government under a state migration plan 5
Designated area sponsorship or nominated by state/territory government (subclass 475 or 487 visa) Sponsorship by an eligible relative living in a designated area or nomination by a state or territory government under a state migration plan 10